About the Council

View of front of Riverside House

Rotherham Council is a metropolitan borough council and is responsible for providing a range of services including social care, planning, housing, revenue and benefits support, licensing, business regulation and enforcement, electoral registration, refuse and recycling, leisure, culture, parks and green spaces, economic growth, highways maintenance, education and skills, community safety and public health.

It also has an important role in working with other providers of public services across Rotherham for approximately 260,000 residents and 100,000 people who work in Rotherham (37,000 from outside the borough).

The Council Consitution

The Council’s constitution sets out how the Council operates, how decisions are made and the procedures that are followed to ensure that this is efficient, transparent and accountable to local people.

View the Council Consistution


The Council has 63 councillors, representing 21 wards inside the Rotherham Borough geographical boundary. The Council is currently led by a Labour Cabinet of eight Members.

View Councillors

Council Committees

There are a number of committees and panels which are responsible for decision making within the organisation, including Council, Cabinet, Audit Committee, Standards and Ethics Committee and Scrutiny.

View Committees

Day to Day Management

The day-to-day management of the Council and its services is overseen by the Strategic Leadership Team and led by the Chief Executive.