How the Council works

  1. Management
  2. Councillors - and the work they do (You are here)
  3. Decision-Making
  4. Public involvement at Council and Committee Meetings

Councillors - and the work they do

The Council has 63 Councillors and their main duty is to represent the views of their community and constituents. Councillors are politicians who are elected by the people of Rotherham and will represent you regardless of your political persuasion.

You can contact your Councillors about any issues that matter to you. You can also speak to your Councillors at one of their regular surgeries. Full Council and Cabinet meetings start with questions from the public. You can attend or ask your Councillors to raise a question for you. The area that the Council governs has 21 areas (called wards).

Each ward has three Councillors. Elections usually happen in May and every Councillor seat will be up for election in 2020.

Find your Councillor

Find your ward


The Council operates a Leader and Cabinet model of decision making. The Council appoints the Leader, who is usually head of the largest political group. The Leader then appoints the Cabinet members. The Cabinet is made up of eight members and has responsibility for all major decisions. It also makes recommendations to the Council on the budget and major plans.

Cabinet Members

  • Cllr Chris Read, Leader
  • Cllr Gordon Watson, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Children and Young People's Services and Neighbourhood Working
  • Cllr David Roche, Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care and Health
  • Cllr Denise Lelliott, Cabinet Member for Jobs and the Local Economy
  • Cllr Emma Hoddinott, Cabinet Member for Waste, Roads and Community Safety
  • Cllr Sarah Allen - Cabinet Member for Cleaner, Greener Communities
  • Cllr Dominic Beck - Cabinet Member for Housing
  • Cllr Saghir Alam - Cabinet Member for Corporate Services and Finance

See Member portfolios

Mayor and Deputy

The role of Mayor is separate to that of Councillor. The Mayor acts in a non-political manner when carrying out the role. The Mayor works to promote civic pride and honours individuals and communities for their contribution to the life of the town. The Mayor is also a member or patron of several organisations.

The Mayor is the first citizen of the town and they have precedence over all but members of the Royal Family and the Lord Lieutenant. Councillors elect the Mayor and Deputy at a Annual Full Council meeting in May. The Mayor Chairs the meetings of the Council. They uphold the constitution and make sure that meetings run in a fitting manner. The Mayor can use a second or casting vote to decide any tied voting issue. The can also call a special meeting of the Council at any time.

Find out about The Mayor

Members' Allowances

The public are entitled to know exactly how much each councillor receives and the type of allowances they receive.

The level of the allowance is recommended by an independent panel made up of suitable people from outside the council.

Some councillors may also be paid an extra amount, known as a special responsibility allowance, for their work in an important post, such as Leader of the Council, Cabinet Member and Chairperson and Vice-chairperson of different committees.

See the Members' Allowances Scheme

Both the basic and special responsibility allowances are taxable and subject to National Insurance.

We publish an annual statement of basic, special and attendance allowances paid to councillors during a financial year. This also includes travel and subsistence allowances. The Council has saved £138,035 per year in the cost of Members' Allowances compared to the costs incurred in the 2014/15 financial year.

See Members' Allowances from 2017-18

Was this information helpful?

Was this page helpful?

Previous page Next page