How to reduce your bill

  1. New build relief
  2. Rural rate relief (You are here)
  3. Mandatory and discretionary rate relief
  4. Small business rates relief
  5. Hardship relief
  6. Rate relief on empty properties
  7. Relief for Local Newspapers
  8. Support for Pubs
  9. Support for Small Businesses
  10. Revaluation Support Scheme
  11. Make an enquiry

Rural rate relief

Mandatory rural rate relief of 50 percent is awarded if your business is in a designated rural area with a population below 3,000.

Rural Settlement List

Areas included in the rural settlement list for the purposes of granting relief are as follows:

  • Firbeck
  • Gildingwells
  • Harthill with Woodall
  • Hooton Levitt
  • Hooton Roberts
  • Letwell
  • Ravenfield
  • Thorpe Salvin
  • Todwick
  • Ulley
  • Wentworth Village
  • Woodsetts
  • Harley in the parish of Wentworth
  • Laughton Common
  • Brampton-en-le-Morthen
  • Laughton-en-le-Morthen village
  • Brookhouse village in the parish of Laughton-en-le-Morthen
  • Carr village in the parish of Laughton-en-le-Morthen
  • Slade Hooton village in the parish of Laughton-en-le-Morthen

You can get mandatory rural rate relief if your business is:

  • the only village shop or post office with a rateable value of up to £8,500
  • the only public house or petrol station with a rateable value of up to £12,500

Local councils can also:

  • top up the mandatory 50 percent relief to 100 percent
  • give relief to other rural retail businesses of up to 100 percent (for properties with a rateable value under £16,500)

Was this information helpful?

Was this page helpful?

Previous page Next page