See local elected representatives

  1. Councillors
  2. Party representation of councillors
  3. Members of Parliament
  4. Parish Councils (You are here)

Parish Councils

Parish and Town Councils are the first level of democratic government in Rotherham.

There are 30 Parish and Town Councils, of which three are classed as Parish Meetings. Nearly half of Rotherham’s population lives in a Parished area.

Parish Councils are made up of locally-elected councillors. Most meet on a monthly or six-week cycle to hear from their constituents and discuss local business. They have a legal right to raise a local tax - known as a precept - to fund their activities and provide services, and have powers in a number of areas including:

  • Allotments
  • Burial grounds
  • Bus shelters
  • Byelaws
  • Conference facilities
  • Community centres
  • Crime prevention
  • Entertainment and the arts
  • Highways
  • Litter
  • Recreation grounds
  • Planning
  • Tourism
  • Traffic calming
  • Transport
  • War memorials

Find your Parish or Town Council

Download contact details for all Parish Councils

Rotherham Borough, Town, and Parish Council Joint Working Group

Rotherham Borough, Town, and Parish Council Joint Working Group is the principle consultative committee between RMBC and the Town and Parish councils. The group was set up due to recognition of the benefit to both tiers of local government including: having a joint working Charter; improving communications; and the offer of training and development opportunities.

For more information click on the following links to download pdf documents:

Download the Joint Working Agreement

Download the Annual Report 2016-17

Download the Annual Report 2017-18


To find out about other community based work happening in and around your parish.

Your Neighbourhood

Was this information helpful?

Was this page helpful?

Previous page Next page