Equality and Diversity

  1. Equality and Diversity Policy
  2. Equality for All - the equality and diversity strategy and action plan
  3. Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED) (You are here)
  4. Equality Impact Assessments (EIAs)
  5. Equality Monitoring
  6. Equality Awareness Events
  7. Accessibility and disability
  8. Hate crime and hate incidents
  9. Equality in employment

Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED)

The Equality Act 2010 replaced previous anti-discrimination laws with a single Act. This includes the Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED) Section 149 of the Equality Act 2010 which came into force in 2011.

The PSED covers councils and other public sector organisations such as the Police, health and schools. It also applies to organisations we contract with who are carrying functions on our behalf.

The General Duty has three aims. It requires public bodies to have due regard to the need to:

  • eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation
  • advance equality of opportunity
  • foster good relations

This means that we must think about these three things in all that we do as an employer, when we deliver services ourselves and when we commission services from others.

Having due regard to the need to advance equality of opportunity involves:

  • removing or minimising disadvantages suffered by persons
  • taking steps to meet the needs of persons that are different from others
  • encouraging people to participate in public life or activity in which participation is disproportionately low

Having due regard to the need to foster good relations involves the need to:

  • tackle prejudice
  • promote understanding

The steps involved in meeting the needs of disabled people involve taking account of a person's impairments and making reasonable adjustments. Compliance with the duties may involve treating some persons more favourably than others.

The Act sets out specific protected characteristics which are:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race (ethnicity, colour and nationality)
  • religion or belief (includes no religious belief)
  • sex (men, women and other)
  • sexual orientation
  • marriage and civil partnership (only in relation to eliminating discrimination)

Everyone shares more than one characteristic, so the Act protects everyone.

There are also some Specific Duties. These are:

  • publish equality objectives every 4 years. See our Equality objectives
  • publish information annually to demonstrate compliance with the General Duty. See our Annual Equality Report
  • publish information relating to their employees and others affected by their policies and practices, such as service users. See Annual Workforce Equality Report
  • publish information in a way that is accessible to the public

Was this information helpful?

Was this page helpful?

Previous page Next page