You are here: Home | Local Land Charges | The Local Land Charges Register

The Local Land Charges Register

The Local Land Charges Register

The Local Land Charges Register consists of twelve parts. The following are examples of the types of information or 'charges' that might be found on the Local Land Charges Register: 

Financial Charges: Detailing amounts of money that are due to the Local Authority, usually these amounts have been incurred as a result of works carried out by the Council in default. 

Conservation Areas: These areas have been designated by the authority as areas containing special architectural or historic interest. Obviously it is desirable to preserve or enhance these areas. This designation gives additional controls over new buildings or demolition works. The Conservation Area designation also helps to protect Trees. Therefore before carrying out any works to trees within a Conservation Area contact the
Planning Office for advice. 

Smoke Control Orders: Only certain approved types of fuel can be used in Smoke Control Areas e.g. smokeless coal. 

These are the 12 parts of the Land Charges Register: 

Part 1: General financial charges
Part 2: Specific financial charges
Part 3: Planning Charges
Part 4: Miscellaneous charges
Part 5: Fenland ways maintenance charges
Part 6: Land compensation charges
Part 7: New towns charges
Part 8: Civil aviation charges
Part 9: Opencast coal charges
Part 10: Listed buildings charges
Part 11: Light obstruction notices
Part 12: Drainage scheme charges

In addition to the registerable items revealed on the Local Land Charges Register a potential purchaser will also wish to be made aware of any notices about to be served on the property that will become binding upon any new purchaser upon completion. To cover these important but non-registerable items the questionnaire form CON29 is available.