Rotherham Council – by-election result

Published Friday, 3rd February 2017
The Town Hall in Rotherham
Rotherham Town Hall

New councillors have been elected to Rotherham Council following by-elections in two of the borough’s wards.

Two seats – one in Brinsworth and Catcliffe, and one in Dinnington – were up for election on Thursday 2 February.

Liberal Democrat candidate Adam Carter was elected in the Brinsworth and Catcliffe ward, which saw a turn-out of almost 32 per cent.

Labour candidate John Vjestica was elected in the Dinnington ward, which saw a turn-out of around 19 per cent.

It means the make-up over the overall council is now as below:

  • 48 Labour
  • 13 UKIP
  • 1 Independent 
  • 1 Lib Dem 

The vacancies arose due to the resignation of former councillors Andrew Roddison (Brinsworth and Catcliffe - Labour) and Ian Finnie (Dinnington - UKIP) in December 2016.

For full details go to the election results webpage