Rotherham borough candidates confirmed for the 2019 General Election

ballot box

Rotherham Council has received nomination papers from candidates standing in the three constituencies in the borough at next month’s General Election.

Papers were received by 4pm on Thursday 14 November for the Rother Valley, Rotherham and Wentworth and Dearne constituencies.

The candidates are confirmed as:

Rother Valley

Allen Cowles – Brexit Party

Nigel Short – Independent

Alexander Stafford – Conservatives

Colin Taylor – Liberal Democrats

Emily West – Green Party

Sophie Wilson – Labour


Dennis Bannan – Yorkshire Party

Adam Carter – Liberal Democrats

Sarah Champion – Labour

Paul Hague – Brexit Party

Gerri Hickton – Conservatives

Wentworth and Dearne

Emily Barley – Conservatives

David Bettney – Social Democratic Party

Lucy Brown – Yorkshire Party

Stephen Cavell – Brexit Party

John Healey – Labour

Janice Middleton – Liberal Democrats


The deadline for members of the public to register to vote is 4.00pm on Tuesday 26 November.

The full statement of persons nominated for each constituency can be downloaded here:

Parliamentary General Election - Election Notices

Published: 15th November 2019