Labour retain control over Rotherham Council

Published Friday, 6th May 2016
A person voting
A ballot box

Labour retain overall control of Rotherham Council with 24 new councillors elected.

The Leader of the Council, Cllr Chris Read, retains his seat along with Deputy Leader Cllr Gordon Watson, current cabinet member for Children and Young People’s Services.

Lead Commissioner at the Council Sir Derek Myers said: “I am pleased that 163 local people offered themselves as candidates to serve their neighbours.  And on a turn out better than many other areas, voters have now chosen the 63 councillors who will take the council forward. This includes 36 councillors elected for the first time in the last 12 months - meaning that the majority of the council has changed over the past year.

“The Labour administration has a clear majority and should now be able to face the challenges ahead with confidence.”

A total of 33 percent of voters turned out in Rotherham to vote for their local councillors.

This was the first all-out election held in the town since 2004. All seats will be up for election in 2020 and every four years after that until decided otherwise.

The overall make-up of the council is now (previous number of seats in brackets):

  • 48 Labour (47)
  • 14 UKIP (12)
  • 1 Independent (3)
  • 0 Conservative (1) 

There was a 32 per cent turn-out in Rotherham for the South Yorkshire Police and Crime Commissioner election, with Dr Alan Billings voted in with over 50 per cent of the South Yorkshire vote.

View the election results