Electoral wards and polling districts

Electoral wards and polling districts in Rotherham

Borough wards

The Rotherham Council area is divided into 25 wards.  Nine wards have three councillors and sixteen wards have two councillors.

Information about each ward can be found on the Neighbourhoods page.

Parliamentary constituencies

For parliamentary elections, the United Kingdom is divided up into 650 constituencies.  There are three parliamentary constituencies covering Rotherham, which are Rotherham, Rother Vale and Wentworth & Dearne.  The Wentworth & Dearne constituency also covers a small area of Barnsley.

Polling districts in Rotherham

For voting purposes, each parliamentary constituency and every local government ward is divided into smaller polling districts. Wherever possible, the polling districts for local government elections are the same for parliamentary elections.

Each polling district is allocated a polling station, which is where the voting actually takes place.  When deciding which buildings to use as polling stations, we try to make sure that they are located as conveniently as possible for the majority of electors and that they are accessible to everyone, particularly anyone with a disability.

Thought must be given, for example, to the distance people have to travel to vote and any barriers to them getting there, such as major roads or rivers.

Polling districts and polling stations are reviewed every five years.  The last review took place in 2019 and the next review must take place in between 1 October 2023 and 1 January 2025.


Contact Electoral Services

To contact Electoral Services use our online form below.