Emergency Planning

Emergency Planning Committee

An Emergency Planning Joint Committee oversees the shared service and makes sure both councils carry out their duties as Category 1 responders (as described by the Civil Contingencies Act 2004).

The Joint Committee consists of Elected Members (Councillors) from the 2 councils, supported by advisors, officers and other interested parties, as and when required.

The Chair of the Joint Committee rotates between Rotherham and Sheffield Elected Members on an annual basis.

The Joint Committee will meet up to 4 times per year to ensure it carries out its responsibilities as described above and the number of meetings will depend on the business to be discussed. Additional extraordinary meetings may be called if necessary.