Parish Councils

Our Town, Parish, and Community Councils (Local Councils) are the first level of democratic government in Rotherham.

There are 31 parishes situated across the Rotherham borough with an established network of local councils comprising of two town councils, 25 parish councils, one community council and three parish meetings.

Each council varies in size and capacity, ranging from small rural to larger urban authorities – all run and deliver services to meet the needs of their communities.

Parish Councils are made up of locally elected councillors. Most meet on a monthly or six-week cycle to hear from their constituents and discuss local business. They have a legal right to raise a local tax - known as a precept - to fund their activities and provide services, and have powers in a number of areas including:

  • Allotments
  • Burial grounds
  • Community centres
  • War memorials

Find your Parish or Town Council

Contact details for all Local Councils

News and information from where you live