Parish Councils

Parish and Town Councils are the first level of democratic government in Rotherham.

There are 30 Parish and Town Councils, of which three are classed as Parish Meetings. Nearly half of Rotherham’s population lives in a Parished area.

Parish Councils are made up of locally-elected councillors. Most meet on a monthly or six-week cycle to hear from their constituents and discuss local business. They have a legal right to raise a local tax - known as a precept - to fund their activities and provide services, and have powers in a number of areas including:

  • Allotments
  • Burial grounds
  • Bus shelters
  • Byelaws
  • Conference facilities
  • Community centres
  • Crime prevention
  • Entertainment and the arts
  • Highways
  • Litter
  • Recreation grounds
  • Planning
  • Tourism
  • Traffic calming
  • Transport
  • War memorials

Find your Parish or Town Council

Download contact details for all Parish Councils

To find out about other community based work happening in and around your parish click on the link below.

Your Neighbourhood