How to reduce your Business Rates bill

Rural rate relief

Mandatory rural rate relief of 50 percent is awarded if your business is in a designated rural area with a population below 3,000.

Rural Settlement List

Areas included in the rural settlement list for the purposes of granting relief are as follows:

  • Firbeck
  • Gildingwells
  • Harthill with Woodall
  • Hooton Levitt
  • Hooton Roberts
  • Letwell
  • Ravenfield
  • Thorpe Salvin
  • Todwick
  • Ulley
  • Wentworth Village
  • Woodsetts
  • Harley in the parish of Wentworth
  • Laughton Common
  • Brampton-en-le-Morthen
  • Laughton-en-le-Morthen village
  • Brookhouse village in the parish of Laughton-en-le-Morthen
  • Carr village in the parish of Laughton-en-le-Morthen
  • Slade Hooton village in the parish of Laughton-en-le-Morthen

You can get mandatory rural rate relief if your business is:

  • the only village shop or post office with a rateable value of up to £8,500
  • the only public house or petrol station with a rateable value of up to £12,500

Local councils can also:

  • top up the mandatory 50 percent relief to 100 percent
  • give relief to other rural retail businesses of up to 100 percent (for properties with a rateable value under £16,500)

The doubling of Business Rates Rural Rate Relief was introduced by the Government in 2017/18. However, the relevant primary legislation hasn't been changed and councils have been asked to use their local discount powers to grant the reliefs in line with Government guidance. The Council has done this for 2017/18 to 2022/2023 inclusive and the same arrangement will continue in 2023/24.