Boston Castle and Park is a fascinating local building which brings to life the story of the Earl of Effingham, and the many people who lived in the Castle and worked in the Park and surrounding area.
Boston Castle was built as a hunting lodge by the Earl of Effingham, it acquired the name Boston Castle to commemorate the Boston Tea Party.
By the early 19th century the Castle had become a small house. It was first occupied by local quarry owners and then from 1876 by the Park Keepers. From the late 1950s, until 1996 it was occupied by the borough’s park staff and their families.